Nominations welcome for Vermont’s Poet Laureate

in Arts and Entertainment/Vermont

NEWPORT — Governor Peter Shumlin and the Vermont Arts Council are inviting nominations for the appointment of a new Vermont Poet Laureate. Sydney Lea, who has been the Vermont Poet Laureate since 2011, will retire from the position this year.

The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2015.

“We look forward to working with Governor Shumlin to select Vermont’s new Poet Laureate – a daunting task in a state with so many critically acclaimed poets,” said Alex Aldrich, Vermont Arts Council executive director. “Vermont has always had a deep connection to poetry, and the poets who make Vermont home are internationally renowned. Robert Frost, appointed in 1961, was Vermont’s first Poet Laureate and began a long tradition of honoring this literary form. Whoever is chosen will join an incredible line-up of former laureates that includes Ellen Bryant Voigt, Galway Kinnell, Louise Gluck, Ruth Stone, Grace Paley, and of course Syd Lea.”

A new Poet Laureate is appointed every four years and serves as Vermont’s ambassador for the art of poetry, participating in official ceremonies and readings within Vermont and nationally. This is an honorary position, appointed by the Governor based on the recommendation of a distinguished panel of judges. The selected poet will receive a $1000 honorarium provided by the Arts Council.

Nominations for Poet Laureate are accepted only by submission of an online nomination form that can be found BY CLICKING HERE.

Questions regarding nominations should be directed to: Michele Bailey, Senior Program Director, at 802. 828.3294 or

Are you on Instagram? Cool. So are we. CLICK HERE to follow us for a behind the scenes look at Newport Dispatch.